Skip to main content

The Shia (Arabic: شيعة‎, Shīʿah) represent the second largest denomination of Islam and adherents of Shia Islam are called Shias or the Shi'a as a collective or Shi'i individually. Shia Muslims believe in Imamat as one of the five pillars of Islam and this belief makes them different from other Muslims. Imamat means only Allah has the right to select the political leader and Caliph for Muslims.

Five Pillars of Islam according to shia Muslims are:

  1. Monotheism: The Oneness of Allah (tawhid)

  2. Divine Justice ('adl)

  3. Prophethood (nubuwwa)

  4. Succession to Muhammad (imamat)

  5. The Day of Judgement and the Resurrection (Qiyama)

Practices of Islam according to shia Muslims:

  1. Prayers (salaat) - 5 times a day

  2. Fasting (sawm) during Ramadan

  3. Alms giving from property (zakkat)

  4. Alms giving from income (khums)

  5. Pilgrimage to the city of Mecca (hajj)

  6. Armed Struggle (jihad)

  7. Enjoining good (amr bil-ma'rouf)

  8. Forbidding evil (nahiy an al-munkar)

  9. Supporting the friends of Allah (tawalli li awliyaa' Allah)

  10. Turning away from the enemies of Allah (tabarri min a'daa Allah)