Prayer times refers to times when Muslims perform prayers (salat).

Salat times refers to times when Muslims perform prayers (salat). The term is primarily used for the five daily prayers plus the Friday prayer. According to Muslim beliefs, the salat times were taught by Allah through Gabriel to Muhammad.

Prayer times are standard for Muslims in the world, especially the fard prayer times. They depend on the condition of the Sun and geography. There are varying opinions regarding the exact salat times, the schools of Islamic thought differing in minor details. All schools agree that any given prayer cannot be performed before its stipulated time.

  1. Fajr: The Fajr prayer starts with the rise of "white light" (fajar sadiq) in the east, and lasts until sunrise.
  2. Dhur: The Dhuhr prayer starts after the sun passes its zenith, and lasts until Asr.
  3. Asr: The Asr prayer starts when the shadow of an object is the same length as the object itself (or, according to Hanafi fiqh, twice its length) and lasts till sunset.
  4. Maghrib: The Maghrib prayer begins when the sun sets, and lasts till the red light has left the sky in the west.
  5. Isha'a:The Isha'a prayer starts when the red light is gone from the western sky, and lasts until the rise of the "white light" (fajar sadiq) in the east. The preferred time for Isha'a is before midnight, meaning halfway between sunset and sunrise.