Hot answers tagged

5

Eating horse is makruh according to the Hanafi and Maliki madhab. Their evidence includes: In the Quran 16:5-7, Allah mentions cattle and the various benefits that may be derived from them including their use in food. However horses are then mentioned separately and being food is omitted from their purpose, and if it was permitted to eat them then that ...


2

“And they (the righteous) are those who give food – in spite of their own need, to the needy, and the orphan, and the captive, [saying in their hearts], 'We only feed you for the sake of God, and we desire nothing in return from you, not even a word of thanks'” (Surah Al-Insaan: 8-9). We find in the Surah Al-Muddaththir a dialogue between the denizens of ...


2

Narrated Abu Hurayrah: A man asked the Messenger of Allah (ﷺ): Messenger of Allah, we travel on the sea and take a small quantity of water with us. If we use this for ablution, we would suffer from thirst. Can we perform ablution with sea water? The Messenger (ﷺ) replied: Its water is pure and what dies in it is lawful food. Sunan Abi Dawud ...


2

You need to check these: whether the milk, from which the cheese is made, is of a permissible animal whether the rennet used to make the cheese is from a permissible animal whether that animal (source of rennet) was slaughtered according to Islamic requirements. There is difference of opinion on this. if any other ingredients are added for flavoring etc., ...


2

I am Muslim and I have many non-muslim friends in my college and also during my school life. During the lunch break, we share our food with each other food, they don't hesitate to take a bite from my lunch box and neither I even when they are pure vegetarian (Don't even eat eggs). Yes, that's right that we should have to be careful while eating meat offered ...


2

In the following I'd like to add some additional details and additions to the great answer of @UmH: When it comes to vinegar we know that it is a product that has formally been or converted to alcohol. However in some hanabli fiqh books there's a description of procedure to get vinegar which doesn't need alcohol and which is considered as permissible: It ...


2

If it has completely converted such that drinking it will not cause intoxication, no matter how much you drink, then it is tahir and halal, it is permissible to consume it and sell it. The following hadith of the Prophet ﷺ evidences its permissibility of vinegar in general: نعم الأدم الخل Vinegar is an excellent condiment — Sahih Muslim Note ...


2

If it is haram (wine, pork, carrion, dedicated to idols etc.) it can not be made halal. He has only forbidden to you dead animals, blood, the flesh of swine, and that which has been dedicated to other than Allah . But whoever is forced [by necessity], neither desiring [it] nor transgressing [its limit], there is no sin upon him. Indeed, Allah is ...


2

Only Hanafi Maddhab says octopus is haram because it's not a fish but the rest of the Maddhabs (Shafi'i, hanbali, Maliki etc) give permission, since they consider any creature from the sea as halal so you can eat it if you don't follow the Hanafi opinion on this. Mussels, squid and octopus do not have all the features of fish; therefore they will not be ...


1

If the food offered is permitted to eat, It doesn't matter who is offering ,cooking or serving. The only reason, Muslims would avoid any offered food is that, there is a high chance of contamination which may change the food into not permitted food. If you let them know clearly what you are going to offer them in food, they would never reject the permitted ...


1

Haram food is completely forbidden until and unless the circumstances are crucial. And by crucial, I mean that it is a matter of life and death. Social connections or being cool in someone's eye is not crucial at all. If you can not eat fish continuously, opt for vegetarian and non-alcoholic choices. There are tons of non-Muslims out there who are sober and ...


1

For breaking the fast you only need to eat or drink something or have a (halal) physical relation. So yes it would be acceptable and technically correct (fiqh perspective) to break fast by only drinking water. But you won't be following the sunnah by eating at least some dates etc. and I doubt that it would be good for your health to do this a longer time.


1

In principle, the parts of a halal animal that is properly slaughtered are all permissible, except for its blood which pours out during the slaughtering. ... قل لا أجد في ما أوحي إلي محرما على طاعم يطعمه إلا أن يكون ميتة أو دما مسفوحا Say, I do not find within that which was revealed to me [anything] forbidden to one who would eat it unless it be a ...


1

If they use the same grill without washing, then it is haram as pork is najis. If their chicken is not slaughtered according to Islamic requirements it is Maytah (carrion) and is itself haram. قل لا أجد في ما أوحي إلي محرما على طاعم يطعمه إلا أن يكون ميتة أو دما مسفوحا أو لحم خنزير فإنه رجس أو فسقا أهل لغير الله به فمن اضطر غير باغ ولا عاد فإن ربك غفور ...


1

Inshallah it will. According to most schools of thought, giving non-obligatory Sadaqah to non-Muslims is permitted, among the evidence for which is the verse of the Quran that describes the traits of the righteous as: ويطعمون الطعام على حبه مسكينا ويتيما وأسيرا And they give food in spite of love for it to the needy, the orphan, and the captive, ...


1

bismi Allah Ar Rahman Ar Rahim. In the name of God, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful. Praise be to Almighty God, and prayers and peace be upon the Messenger of Allah and his family and companions, Having said that, Peace be upon those who follow guidance God Almighty said in Surat Al-Baqarah : ("He(Allah) has forbidden you carrion, and blood, ...


1

From the point of view of Islamic law, dairy and fish may be consumed together as there is no proven prohibition regarding it. However it has been said in various books of scholars that it is against the Sunnah, for example Ibn Qayyim's book on Prophetic Medicine (Paraphrased translation): ومن تدبر أغذيته صلى الله عليه وسلم، وما كان يأكله، وجده لم يجمع ...


1

As far as I know, Islamic religious law does not require a certificate. However in practical terms, your customers might need you to be certified, they might not take your word for it or they might doubt that you properly know and understand all halal requirements.


1

Haram food is unclean, or "Najis" for Muslims. It can clearly be understood that touching something unclean would make you unclean too. So, if your food only touches the Haram food, you should remove that part of it before consuming. But as you stated that it is cooked with it, and cooking breaks down the ingredients in food, mixing them together, that means ...


1

I think one major issue in this is: a maid is not a slave and therefore some mahram rules will apply. On the other hand asking her to do something should be allowed, but it is to her to decide whether she wants to do this and extra paid for it or not. As it is matter that should be fixed in an employment contract. And we are told: O you who have believed, ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible