Hot answers tagged

13

It is mentioned in four verses that in case of necessity one could eat any of the otherwise haram kinds of flesh or food: He has only forbidden to you dead animals, blood, the flesh of swine, and that which has been dedicated to other than Allah . But whoever is forced [by necessity], neither desiring [it] nor transgressing [its limit], there is no sin upon ...


11

It is different in each branch. And I must say that it is not easy (or maybe even possible) to infer these rules only from Quran. In Shia Islam Only fishes with scale and also shrimp are halal. All other aquatic animals are haram. In Sunni Islam Hanafi branch: All fishes except squids are halal. Shafi'i branch: there are 4 different viewpoints: (It seems ...


11

Salam. There are two views regarding eating meat of horse. I will try to write both below. But I will try to clear before that there is no order in Quran about the horse being halal or haram. So we will rely on Ahadith as: Eating Horse is Halal: This term is more accepted because it has some valid ahadith. It is stated in Bukhari as: Narrated Jabir bin `...


8

White sugar is not made out of, nor does it contain, bones. Sugar (most sugar) is cane sugar, which comes from sugar canes. It is then refined, and one of two things happens: The molasses is removed (and you get white sugar) The molasses is not removed (and you get brown sugar) Further refinement is what gives it that white colour and shine. This is done ...


7

As you mentioned it, the base is everything is halal unless it is stated by Qur'an and Sunnah it is haram. After you read the following from the Qur'an and Sunnah, I advise to refer to this website to get more details about subtypes of foods. Translation Prohibited to you are dead animals, blood, the flesh of swine, and that which has been ...


7

There's nothing wrong with milk in and of itself, since milk typically doesn't come from (a) dead animals, or (b) swine. However, many dairy products use haram (or at least questionable) ingredients in their manufacture. The biggest example would be cheese. The typical cheese-making process requires an enzyme to curdle the milk, and this enzyme is often ...


7

The exact words that you quoted are not in any Sunni book that I have come across. However, a hadith attributed to 'Ali ibn Abi Tālib — not to the Prophet — was documented by Muhammad al-Munawi in Fayd al-Qadīr: قال علي كرم الله وجهه: من ترك اللحم أربعين يوما ساء خلقه ومن داوم عليه أربعين يوما قسا قلبه — NOTE: My own translation, so treat with care. ...


6

First let's re-quote the Hadith: حَدَّثَنَا عَبْدُ اللَّهِ بْنُ مُحَمَّدٍ، قَالَ حَدَّثَنَا أَبُو عَاصِمٍ، قَالَ أَخْبَرَنَا ابْنُ جُرَيْجٍ، قَالَ أَخْبَرَنِي عَطَاءٌ، قَالَ سَمِعْتُ جَابِرَ بْنَ عَبْدِ اللَّهِ، قَالَ قَالَ النَّبِيُّ صلى الله عليه وسلم ‏ "‏ مَنْ أَكَلَ مِنْ هَذِهِ الشَّجَرَةِ ـ يُرِيدُ الثُّومَ ـ فَلاَ يَغْشَانَا فِي مَسَاجِدِنَا ‏"‏‏.‏ ...


6

No. It is haram. Sulphites, in parenthesis, is most likely there to indicate that the wine contains sulphites (sulfites). According to The Kitchn it is used as a preservative in winemaking. The term ‘sulfites’ is an inclusive term for sulfur dioxide (SO2). SO2 is a preservative and widely used in winemaking ....


6

Horse meat Actually horse meat is halal: Is horsemeat Halal? Ahadith such as the following Narrated Asma': We slaughtered a horse during the lifetime of Allah's Messenger (ﷺ) and ate it. -- Sahih al-Bukhari 5519 (sunnah.com; also Sahih Muslim 1942 a sunnah.com) leads scholars to declare that one can eat horse meat. For example: The majority of scholars ...


6

Sheikh Riyad al-Musaymiri, professor at Al-Imam University in Riyadh commented on this issue thus: In accordance with the general principles of Islamic Law, beef is essentially lawful. Allah says: “It is He who created for you all that is in the Earth.” [Surah al-Baqarah: 29] Allah also says: “It is He who has put forth the Earth for His ...


6

Yes, in the case that there is no halal food available it is permitted to eat just enough of a haram food as would be required to stay alive. The primary source for this is in the Quran in each of the main verses which declare haram foods which are 2:173, 5:3, 6:145 and 16:115. And also in 6:119 حرمت عليكم الميتة والدم ولحم الخنزير وما أهل لغير الله به ... ...


5

Bone char (charcoal made from animal bones) is used to filter sugar and decolorize it. It is not an ingredient in refined sugar and thus is not consumed. So the question on whether it is halal to consume or not does not enter in the picture.


5

Eating horse is makruh according to the Hanafi and Maliki madhab. Their evidence includes: In the Quran 16:5-7, Allah mentions cattle and the various benefits that may be derived from them including their use in food. However horses are then mentioned separately and being food is omitted from their purpose, and if it was permitted to eat them then that ...


5

I am a little alarmed that you are panicking about "sins" you made as a child! What kind of monster do you think God is? First of all, a sin is only a sin if you intended to make that sin, knowing what you were doing, which can hardly apply to your recent misfortune, least of all when you were a child. Innama al a3malou bin-nyiate : the deeds require ...


5

It's going to be what you expect: these things are halal. The only context I can think of where grapes (or grape juice) might be haram is if they're being (mis) used for making alcohol, as per the hadith: It was narrated from Ibn ‘Umar that the Messenger of Allah said: Wine is cursed from ten angles: The wine itself, the one who squeezes (the grapes etc)...


5

To the best of my knowledge, although it is recommended to eat by the right hand, instead of left hand (and actually it is said that it is Makruh to eat by the left hand), but it doesn’t mean that it is a haram act to do so. Consequently there is no necessity for left-handed people to change their habit about that. Of course, as a related helpful point, ...


4

TL;DR: The Qur'an and Sunnah didn't come with percentages, so rulings are based around the hadith: It was narrated from 'Amir bin Sa'd, from his father, that: The Prophet [SAW] forbade a small amount of whatever intoxicates in large amounts. [grade: hasan] (sunnah.com) In this way, 0.5% was declared insufficient to render a drink an intoxicant in some ...


4

The primary prohibition is limited to meat that is slaughtered by them because it will not be slaughtered in Allah's name, and it may be dedicated to their gods rather than to Allah. Quran 6:118 So eat of that [meat] upon which the name of Allah has been mentioned, if you are believers in His verses. Quran 6:121 And do not eat of that upon which ...


4

As said by other comments and answers the main issues of eating with fork and knife as in western culture are: The (quasi) prohibition of eating with the left hand and the other issue is the imitation of non-Muslims. AFAIK or at least I've been told american people have the fork in the right hand so this way to eat would at least eliminate the first possible ...


4

Walaikum salammm warahmatullahi wabarakatuh, Allaah has enjoined breastfeeding in His Book, when He said (interpretation of the meaning): “The mothers shall give suck to their children for two whole years, (that is) for those (parents) who desire to complete the term of suckling” [al-Baqarah 2:233] https://islamqa.info/en/20759


4

By considering following headees, Narrated ‘Umar bin Al-Khattab Radi Allahu Anhu: The Prophet Sallallahu Alaihi wasallam said, “”The rewards (of deeds) are according to the intention, and everybody will get the reward for what he has intended. So whoever emigrated for Allah’s and His Apostle’s sake, his emigration was for Allah and His Apostle Sallallahu ...


4

There are a couple of different Islamic teachings that apply here, and you will have to balance them out: Imitating other religions and participating in their rituals is forbidden(1). Islam has its own rituals relating to eating which you should observe(2). Islam enjoins ihsan (excellence) in all deeds, including in dealing with non-muslims, and that ...


4

No, it even isn't Sunnah There is no evidence from the Sunnah that the Prophet intentionally ate an odd number of dates. Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymeen (may Allah have mercy on him) said: It is not obligatory – and in fact it is not Sunnah – to break the fast with an odd number, three or five or seven or nine, except on the Day of Eid al-Fitr, as it is proven that ...


4

There is no evidence above whether it is Makruh or not but it is Mustahabb (preferable) to eat food at Suhur There is no evidence to show whether or not it is makruh or haram but it is permissible as it would contain vitamins that are essential for the brain. There is no difference in these tablets and food eaten in suhur in regards to making fasting more ...


4

'Jallalah' is a category of animals that are generally halal to eat (eg, chickens) but then they eat filth thereby making it impermissible to eat them because as reported by Ibn Umar: "The Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) forbade the meat and milk of Al-Jallalah" - Ibn Majah (3189). Does that make it impermissible to eat them forever? No. All you have to do is to end/...


4

You have answered your own question. Just use a bit of deductive reasoning:- Muslims cannot eat meat that is not Halal and Zabiha Texas restaurants are not halal except when they are clearly labelled as halal Thus, Muslims cannot eat from Texas restaurants except when they are clearly labelled as halal


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible