Podcast #128: We chat with Kent C Dodds about why he loves React and discuss what life was like in the dark days before Git. Listen now.

Hot answers tagged

18

The general ruling on food is that everything is permissible (for example, Surat Baqarah:172). Then there are some things that have been explicitly made impermissible, for example in the next ayah Surat Baqarah:173 (emphasis mine): He has only forbidden to you dead animals, blood, the flesh of swine, and that which has been dedicated to other than Allah. ...


15

He has forbidden you only the Maitah (dead animals), and blood, and the flesh of swine, and that which is slaughtered as a sacrifice for others than God (or has been slaughtered for idols). But if one is forced by necessity, without wilful disobedience, nor transgressing due limits, then there is no sin on him. Truly, God is Oft-forgiving Most Merciful. [2:...


13

Pure water by itself is fundamentally halal. If there are haram impurities involved, the water would also become haram; not because of the water itself, but because of what's in it. So, for example, if it was drawn from a small pool in which someone was storing their dead pig carcasses, we shouldn't drink it (most would chalk that up to common sense though)...


11

The conditions for slaughtered meat that is valid to eat are 5: The slaughterer must be of the age of tamyiz - i.e. he must be of an age where he is able to intend the slaughter, differentiate between right and wrong and perform simple commands. The slaughterer must be either Muslim, Christian, or Jewish. The instrument used to slaughter must be sharp and ...


10

It is different in each branch. And I must say that it is not easy (or maybe even possible) to infer these rules only from Quran. In Shia Islam Only fishes with scale and also shrimp are halal. All other aquatic animals are haram. In Sunni Islam Hanafi branch: All fishes except squids are halal. Shafi'i branch: there are 4 different viewpoints: (It seems ...


10

Islam is a very forgiving religion. One of the main issues that addresses your question is the principle that you are only a sinner if you sin intentionally and knowingly. That is, you sin if: You do something sinful (like eating pork) With full knowledge that it is a sinful act, and Still intentionally do it There are caveats. For example, if you are ...


10

There are some ingreidents in Sushi that need investigation. Shellfish, such as shrimp and crab. Most Sunni schools of thought regard them as halal. However, many Hanafis regard them as haram or makrooh. While Jafari fiqh considers shrimp and prawn as halal, crab and non-scaled sea creatures (such as eel) are haram. Mirin is a Japanese condiment that has ...


10

Salam. There are two views regarding eating meat of horse. I will try to write both below. But I will try to clear before that there is no order in Quran about the horse being halal or haram. So we will rely on Ahadith as: Eating Horse is Halal: This term is more accepted because it has some valid ahadith. It is stated in Bukhari as: Narrated Jabir bin `...


9

Your assumption is right. Gelatin is derived from animals. However, there are some gelling agents such as pectin that come from plants. These are carbohydrate based and are not chemically related to animal gelatin. I think these are called vegetable gelatin and might be what you saw on the label. When it comes to whether it’s Halal, I suggest you make your ...


8

To answer the question succinctly, the Prophet (sal Allahu 'alayhi wa sallam) said: "Certainly, Allah has pardoned for me my ummah: their mistakes, their forgetfulness, and that which they have been forced to do under duress" [ibn Majah, Bayhaqi] "Mistakes" in this case means you ate the pork mistakenly (not knowing what it was). It won't be a sin ...


8

From the point of view of Shia just Shrimp is halal. See followings: http://islamquest.net/en/archive/question/fa782 http://islamquest.net/en/archive/question/fa2070


8

If eating human flesh wasn't haraam, it would not have been compared to backbiting. Al-Ĥujurāt :: Ayah 12 O you who have believed, avoid much [negative] assumption. Indeed, some assumption is sin. And do not spy or backbite each other. Would one of you like to eat the flesh of his brother when dead? You would detest it. And fear Allah ; indeed, Allah ...


8

White sugar is not made out of, nor does it contain, bones. Sugar (most sugar) is cane sugar, which comes from sugar canes. It is then refined, and one of two things happens: The molasses is removed (and you get white sugar) The molasses is not removed (and you get brown sugar) Further refinement is what gives it that white colour and shine. This is done ...


7

Scholars (Sunni) said smoking is haram because it comes under the heading of al-khabaa’ith (that which is evil and unlawful), and Allah and His Messenger have forbidden al-khabaa’ith (that which is evil and unlawful). Allah says, describing the Prophet (blessings and peace of Allah be upon him): “he allows them as lawful At-Taiyibat ((i.e. all good and ...


7

There's nothing wrong with milk in and of itself, since milk typically doesn't come from (a) dead animals, or (b) swine. However, many dairy products use haram (or at least questionable) ingredients in their manufacture. The biggest example would be cheese. The typical cheese-making process requires an enzyme to curdle the milk, and this enzyme is often ...


7

The exact words that you quoted are not in any Sunni book that I have come across. However, a hadith attributed to 'Ali ibn Abi Tālib — not to the Prophet — was documented by Muhammad al-Munawi in Fayd al-Qadīr: قال علي كرم الله وجهه: من ترك اللحم أربعين يوما ساء خلقه ومن داوم عليه أربعين يوما قسا قلبه — NOTE: My own translation, so treat with care. ...


6

Dates, the preferred fruit of the prophet As Muslims, I believe we should turn to the sunnah and example of the prophet to answer such questions. Anas b. Mâik narrates that Allah’s Messenger (peace be upon him) used to break his fast with fresh dates before going to prayer. When fresh dates were unavailable, he would break his fast with dried dates. When ...


6

Islam as a deen (comprehensive way of life) generally permits everything, and screens out those things which are haraam. From Usool ul-Fiqh, we learn that "all actions (which are not acts of worship) are halal until proven haram." The default ruling would apply here: you would assume that it's okay, unless shari'ah puts some conditions or exclusions on it. ...


6

According to Jafari Fiqh the meat of boars is Haram (forbidden) but it is not Najis. Products made of its hair like brush are allowed to be used. Ref: By online Answering from Official website of Grand Ayatollah Makarem Shirazi.


6

In Islam (Sunni Point of view), eating the meat of Ahl Al-Kitaab (Jews and Christians) is permissible (Halal). However, whoever leaves it out of piety, there is no blame upon him. Yes, eating the poultry is permissible because that which is slaughtered by the Ahl Al-Kitaab today is just as what was slaughtered by Ahl Al-Kitaab in the time of the ...


6

1. What is the purpose of Allah in making alcohol haram? Because of reasons that are stated in Quran: إِنَّمَا يُرِيدُ الشَّيْطَانُ أَن يُوقِعَ بَيْنَكُمُ الْعَدَاوَةَ وَالْبَغْضَاء فِي الْخَمْرِ وَالْمَيْسِرِ وَيَصُدَّكُمْ عَن ذِكْرِ اللّهِ وَعَنِ الصَّلاَةِ فَهَلْ أَنتُم مُّنتَهُونَ Satan only wants to cause between you animosity and hatred through ...


6

Are Shrimp, Lobster, Crayfish and Crab Halal? Yes, those are halaal: Hence all kinds of food from the sea are permissible, whether they are plants or animals, alive or dead. Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning): “Lawful to you is (the pursuit of) water-game and its use for food – for the benefit of yourselves and those who travel…” [al-Maa’...


6

There is no reason to believe that you're obliged to eat anything just because it's halal, as long as you don't refuse it because you think it's unlawful (it's not). There is a relevant hadith wherein some people offered lizard meat to the prophet and he refused it: Not because it was unlawful, only because he felt he would not like it as it was not a ...


6

First let's re-quote the Hadith: حَدَّثَنَا عَبْدُ اللَّهِ بْنُ مُحَمَّدٍ، قَالَ حَدَّثَنَا أَبُو عَاصِمٍ، قَالَ أَخْبَرَنَا ابْنُ جُرَيْجٍ، قَالَ أَخْبَرَنِي عَطَاءٌ، قَالَ سَمِعْتُ جَابِرَ بْنَ عَبْدِ اللَّهِ، قَالَ قَالَ النَّبِيُّ صلى الله عليه وسلم ‏ "‏ مَنْ أَكَلَ مِنْ هَذِهِ الشَّجَرَةِ ـ يُرِيدُ الثُّومَ ـ فَلاَ يَغْشَانَا فِي مَسَاجِدِنَا ‏"‏‏.‏ ...


6

No. It is haram. Sulphites, in parenthesis, is most likely there to indicate that the wine contains sulphites (sulfites). According to The Kitchn it is used as a preservative in winemaking. The term ‘sulfites’ is an inclusive term for sulfur dioxide (SO2). SO2 is a preservative and widely used in winemaking ....


6

Horse meat Actually horse meat is halal: Is horsemeat Halal? Ahadith such as the following Narrated Asma': We slaughtered a horse during the lifetime of Allah's Messenger (ﷺ) and ate it. -- Sahih al-Bukhari 5519 (sunnah.com; also Sahih Muslim 1942 a sunnah.com) leads scholars to declare that one can eat horse meat. For example: The majority of ...


5

Asalamu wa alaikum, As ashes999 said above you are a sinner only if you sin intentionly. Allah says: قُل لَّآ أَجِدُ فِى مَآ أُوحِىَ إِلَىَّ مُحَرَّمًا عَلَىٰ طَاعِمٍ۬ يَطۡعَمُهُ ۥۤ إِلَّآ أَن يَكُونَ مَيۡتَةً أَوۡ دَمً۬ا مَّسۡفُوحًا أَوۡ لَحۡمَ خِنزِيرٍ۬ فَإِنَّهُ ۥ رِجۡسٌ أَوۡ فِسۡقًا أُهِلَّ لِغَيۡرِ ٱللَّهِ بِهِۦ‌ۚ فَمَنِ ٱضۡطُرَّ غَيۡرَ بَاغٍ۬ ...


5

[2:219] They ask you about wine and gambling. Say, "In them is great sin and [yet, some] benefit for people. But their sin is greater than their benefit." And they ask you what they should spend. Say, "The excess [beyond needs]." Thus Allah makes clear to you the verses [of revelation] that you might give thought. This verse from the Qur'an clearly states ...


5

The Qur'an doesn't exclude any type of fish. It simply says that meat from the sea is lawful: Lawful to you is game from the sea and its food as provision for you and the travelers, but forbidden to you is game from the land as long as you are in the state of ihram. And fear Allah to whom you will be gathered. 5:96 And it is He who subjected the sea ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible