I heard a friend say that as Muslims we should eat everything that has been made halal for us and if we don't then we will be questioned on the last day. I am specifically referring to rabbit meat here: I have never tasted it nor do I intend to, but is my refusal to eat it considered a sin on my part?

  • +1 for clear formulation of question.
    – user2350
    Jun 9, 2013 at 15:41

1 Answer 1


There is no reason to believe that you're obliged to eat anything just because it's halal, as long as you don't refuse it because you think it's unlawful (it's not).

There is a relevant hadith wherein some people offered lizard meat to the prophet and he refused it: Not because it was unlawful, only because he felt he would not like it as it was not a customary dish among his people.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .