It is often mentioned that Sa'id ibn al-Mussayib سعید بن المسیب was one of the 7 scholars or fuqahaa' of Medina. My guess is that this refers to scholars of the age of the followers (at-Tabi'yn التابعين), but this era might similarlyto that of the sahabah be divided into sighar and kibar as-Sahabah (Sahabah who were very young when the prophet() died or when they met the prophet() I'm not 100% clear about the correct use of this term).

  • Who are the others?
  • Where they really seven and why where they called so?
  • Did all of them live at the same time period?

This might look as a multi question post, but I guess we can only know whether these questions are really that much different after receiving an answer or input!


The seven scholars ( فقهاء السبعة ) is the title given to a group of prominent jurists among the Tabieen who lived in the same place and time period, i.e. in Medinah contemporary to the governorship of Umar ibn Abdul Aziz. They include:

  1. Sa'eed ibn al-Musayyab ( سعيد بن المسيب )
  2. Urwa ibn al-Zubayr ibn Al-Awam ( عروة بن الزبير )
  3. Qasim ibn Muhammad ibn Abu Bakr ( قاسم بن محمد بن أبي بكر )
  4. Ubaydullah ibn 'Abdullah ibn Utba ibn Mas'ud ( عبيد الله بن عتبة بن مسعود )
  5. Kharija ibn Zayd ibn Thabit ( خارجة بن زيد بن ثابت )
  6. Sulayman ibn Yasar ( سليمان بن يسار )
  7. There are different views on it:
    • Abu Bakr ibn Abdur Rahman ibn al-Harith ( أبو بكر بن عبد الرحمن بن الحارث )
    • Salim ibn Abdullah ibn Umar ( سالم بن عبد الله بن عمر )
    • Abu Salama ibn Abdur Rahman ibn Awf ( أبو سلمة بن عبد الرحمن بن عوف )

Ref: https://islamqa.info/ar/answers/225018/

  • Was it really during the caliphate of 'Umar ibn 'Abd'al'Aziz or earlier during his administration of Medina? – Medi1Saif Nov 14 '20 at 15:39

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.