I need clarity in 7 qiraat of the Quran. According to the hadeeth of Ibn ‘Abbaas who narrated that the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Jibreel taught me one style and I reviewed it until he taught me more, and I kept asking him for more and he gave me more until finally there were seven styles.” (narrated by al-Bukhaari, 3047; Muslim, 819), there are only seven styles, so why do people say there 10 qiraats? What is the difference between "style" and "qira'a"? and I think even the seven qiraat ('Assim, Naafi', Ibn Kathir, etc) each of them has 2 readings (Shu'ab 'an 'Assim, Hafs 'an 'Assim, etc). How can these be explained when the hadith says there are only 7 styles?

  • 2
    These are two different topics which you are mixing. – Medi1Saif Jun 25 '19 at 11:43
  • Brother please explain – Qataada Jun 25 '19 at 13:18
  • Check any my answers under the qiraat-tag and you'll be enlightened. – Medi1Saif Jun 25 '19 at 14:17
  • Brother do you know german? – Qataada Jun 27 '19 at 11:17
  • Yes, why are you asking? – Medi1Saif Jun 27 '19 at 11:19

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.