I heard rumors. Can you confirm if Lay's are halal or haram?
This might depend on your location.
Lays may contain the ingredient E631. This can be manufactured from e.g:
animals, including pigs
yeast from brewing alcohol
bacterial fermentation of sugars and plant matter
The first two sources are haram and the last two are halal. The answer to your question depends on whether or not you can verify the origin of the ingredients, and whether or not you trust the claim made on it.