I've heard some people claim that spinal marrow or spinal cord is haram to eat. Is this claim true and what is the basis for this?


2 Answers 2


No, it is not haram. At all. The prohibition is against blood, and marrow is not blood. Some may have confused that issue.


Everything is Halal until proven otherwise. Allah said, “It is He Who hath created for you all things that are on earth.” (Quran 2:29). In other words, spinal marrow or spinal cord is Halal.

Majority of the Muslim scholars hold of its permissibility. However, some from the Shia religion rely on a fabricated hadith, "The worst of my ummah are those who consume bone marrow" (Bihar al-Anwaar , 62/293).

All in all, there is no evidence of prohibition.

  • This might answer the question but clearly needs clarification I at least would add (5:1) and (5:3-5:4) and maybe more. As you statement could -theoretically- easily be refuted by a counterexample or an exception.
    – Medi1Saif
    Commented Jun 4, 2018 at 7:37
  • How would you refute it? I am actually curious now.
    – Hazm
    Commented Jun 5, 2018 at 8:01
  • Take any verse starting with: "Allah made unlawfull for you" it shows that not all things are halal. So you must explicitly show that your "thing" is halal, by excluding it being haram.
    – Medi1Saif
    Commented Jun 5, 2018 at 8:06
  • Also, this is the position of the four schools of thought.
    – Hazm
    Commented Jun 5, 2018 at 8:07
  • This can't be concluded from your statement!
    – Medi1Saif
    Commented Jun 5, 2018 at 8:12

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .