1

Marmite is made from leftover brewers yeast, it is popular in South Africa, Australia, etc.

Marmite is made from yeast extract, a by-product of beer brewing. (Wikipedia)

So would it be considered halal, or is it haram?

Marmite; Image source Wikimedia Commons: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Marmite.jpg

  • The answer is more or less simple if it contains alcohol or any thing which could be considered as intoxication it is clearly haram! – Medi1Saif Mar 11 '16 at 8:12
3

Marmite is haram. Eat vegemite instead!

Kiwi-bashing aside, from their FAQ:

Is Marmite certified Halal?
Yes – The Halal Certification Authority of Australia has certified Marmite as a Halal product.

Is Marmite kosher certified?
Yes – Marmite is Kosher certified.

Is Marmite suitable for vegans and vegetarians?
Yes – Marmite is vegan and vegetarian friendly.

2

This same problem arose in Haraam or Halal? - Coke and Pepsi contain 0.001% Alcohol, where it was noted that e.g. Coke contains minute amounts of alcohol. So I reiterate the main ideas of my answer in this context:

  • If a substance is incapable of intoxicating even in large quantities, then it is not haram (insofar as to being an intoxicant; it could still be haram for other reasons).

    Some people think that the words of the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him), “Whatever intoxicates in large quantities, a little of it is haraam”, mean that if a small percentage of an intoxicant is mixed with a large amount of a substance that is not intoxicating, then it is haraam. This is a misunderstanding of the hadeeth. ... if something is mixed with alcohol but the alcohol is a small amount and does not have any effect, then it is halaal and does not come under the ruling of this hadeeth. -- Islam Q&A, in the context of non-alcoholic beers

  • The prohibition applies to the substance as a whole, not to it's individualized parts:

    Sheikh Salman al-Oadah astutely observed: "The percentage of alcohol mentioned has no effect on the ruling. The ruling applies to the drink itself taken as a whole and not to its composition." -- IslamToday.net, also in the context of non-alcoholic beers

It's reasonable to believe that even a large amount of Marmite is incapable of intoxicating, and thus prohibition due to being an intoxicant does not apply.

  • Are you implicitly implying that drinking non-alcoholic beer is ok? – Ahmed Apr 16 '18 at 7:31
  • I'm not implying anything; I'm just relaying what the scholars have said. The linked answer gives examples of fatawa which consider non-alcoholic beer as okay. E.g. Islam Q&A write: The second type is beer that is not intoxicating, either because it is completely free of alcohol, or because it contains a minuscule amount of alcohol that does not reach the level of causing intoxication no matter how much a person drinks of it. The scholars have ruled that this is permissible. – Rebecca J. Stones Apr 16 '18 at 7:41
-4

Anything that can make you intoxicated is not good. The key point is effect of the substance not what it is made from.

  • A lot of additive that can causes cancers are considered halal. So, there are contradictions here in what you say. – Quidam May 13 '17 at 16:17

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy