I purchased cod liver oil capsules and it has gelatin. I was told by my elders that it's haram. I don't know why and how, but people in Muslim countries have not that much awareness or they sell vegan cod liver oil. What should one do in this kind of case when your not sure. To eat or not to eat? As many items in European countries have unknown stuff which can be haram for Muslims e.g supplements.
In any product you buy, you usually find these additives like gelatin, emulsifiers, etc. No matter what the product is, so long as it is not halal, then that entire food becomes not halal. Regarding gelatin, emulsifiers, and other additives that originate from animals, they usually use pig fats for them, but many companies also claim to use beef or other animal fats. As a muslim, your job is to call up the company and make sure that the additives are firstly not originated from pig, and secondly, if it is (say for example) beef gelatin, then you need to make sure it comes from an animal that has been slaughtered accordingly with islamic shariah. this is a big topic, and there are many disputes regarding all the conditions, but just remember that this life is a test, and so even if everything has haraam additives, there are still alternatives, which if you seek for the sake of Allah, He will reward you (In Sha Allah). Try your best to consume that which is halaal, and not haraam, as you will be asked about it on the day of judgement, and Allah SWT knows best.
oh and to summarise and answer your question, dont eat it if your in doubt, just call up their company and ask them where their gelatin originates from, and if they say beef then ask if you can have the contact number for the company that supplied them the gelatin. then call the gelatin company and ask if they are halaal certified :)