Islam Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for Muslims, experts in Islam, and those interested in learning more about Islam. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

What are the differences between these three types of Hajj: Mofrad, Mokren, and Motamatte3?

I know the difference is concerning Ihram, but what is exactly each one of them?

share|improve this question
Does this link answer your question? I'm not sure how authenticate this link is, please judge for yourself. – user2350 Jun 7 '13 at 13:48

There are three types =

Hajj Mofrad is when one enters into the state of Ihram for Hajj only and no Umrah is performed before Hajj.

Hajj Tamattu is when the pilgrim removes Ihram for Umrah on the 8th of Thul-Hijjah and re-enters into the state of Ihram again for Hajj. Umrah is done before Hajj.

Hajj Qiran is when a pilgrim enters into the state of Ihram for both Umrah and the Hajj.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.